Finding A Source of Inspiration

Each of us is a different animal within ourselves. As a result, we all work differently. Thankfully, we don’t come off an assembly line. It makes the world a refreshing and extraordinary place to explore. When you look to create, where do you go? A book, your friends, music, out for a drive, or all of the above?

I tend to be an all of the above kind of person. Music creates the piece within my mind. Location, or pictures of locations help solidify bits and pieces of it. Interactions with my friends and family pull other important parts into the mix. Books. Books help me to hone my own style of writing. To become better at what I do.

Today, I thought I’d take you on a picture journey. The one that inspired part of the backdrop for my second book. So sit back and enjoy the view. I hope they speak to you half as much as they did me.

First: The following tune by Tarja inspired my writing at one point early on in the second book. The adjoining video, as well as the music, fits the mood. Play it while you take the tour.

 

Image courtesy of Google Images

Image courtesy of Crazytyler29 curtesy DeviontART

Image by Felix Chen courtesy of Picasa

Image courtesy of Photography Match

Image by Long Dam Phi courtesy of Flickr

Image courtesy of Google Images

Image by skatanas6666 courtesy of iMGSRC.RU Nature

Image courtesy of Google Images

Image courtesy of Google Images

Image courtesy of Google Images

Image courtesy of Google Images

Mashing up two pictures to create the look I want

Image by skatanas6666 courtesy of iMGSRC.RU Nature

Image by Kevin Muckenthaler and courtesy of Wikicommons

Image courtesy of the apsa.com.za

Image courtesy of Google Images

Image courtesy of HiDefWallpaper.org

Image courtesy of Google Images

Image courtesy of Google Images

Image courtesy of Only HD Wallpapers

Image by Paul courtesy of TravelPod

Image courtesy of Google Images

Thank you for stopping by and taking in the windows to inspiration. I hope you got something out of it. If you enjoyed this post or any of my previous posts, I’d be delighted to have you follow by email or RSS for any future posts! Until next time – peace be with you.

All your kind thoughts and comments are greatly appreciated. Thank you!

 

If you enjoyed this post you may also like the following:

Let There Be Lights ~ 30+ Pictures with music

About Debra Kristi

Debra Kristi is a mother, an author, a Pinterest addict, and sometimes DIY home decorator. Hang with her to organize your everyday and leave your mind open to the fantastical.
This entry was posted in Friday-Lift, Inspirations, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Finding A Source of Inspiration

  1. This photo looks so surreal ) Great work

  2. Coleen Patrick says:

    Very inspiring photos and music–so cool!!

  3. Love the images. I use music and pictures and books to inspire me. Actually my insanely long commute inspires me as well. 🙂

    • Debra Kristi says:

      I come up with so much on long drives, assuming the kids aren’t in the back seat talking to me the whole time and I can tap into that reservoir. I love getting in the car and just going. I have files of inspirational pictures for my book, and probably two to three songs per chapter – on the average. I’m crazy like that. 😀 I really liked the song you posted last week.

  4. You could’ve re-titled this post “Twenty-two places Paige would like to hide from her kids, today”. Just a thought..:)

  5. timlobrien says:

    I’m an all of the above person as well. Music is my number one creative helper. I love the solitude of being out in the middle of nowhere as well. This is weird, but going to the bookstore and browsing for an hour make my creative energy flow as well. Loved all the images!

    • Debra Kristi says:

      My husband likes to hang out in the bookstore as well. We will do that from time to time. I like to know what my characters are feeling and experiencing so I will sometimes get out and find places similar so that I can “feel” the atmosphere and “touch” the surroundings. I can write it better that way. My husband is an avid hiker so he enjoys getting out and exploring with me.

  6. Gorgeous photos, Debra! I don’t have the time or patience to search them out on the web…but I’m glad you did!

    • Debra Kristi says:

      I would find the pictures when I was working on a particular scene. I admit, time is harder to find now that I am blogging. There were more pictures, but they kept un-sticking with the save. I finally gave up.

  7. Such a lovely post, Debra. (Difficult to even call it a ‘post’…definitely more of an ‘experience.’) I scanned the photos with then without the music—made for a totally different experience. The piano trill is gorgeous! Tells a story all on its own.

    • Debra Kristi says:

      Aw, thank you. It’s takes you to a different world when you add the music doesn’t it August? You say it tells a story? Funny thing, they are placed in the order that my characters experience these things in the book, with a few omissions. 😉

  8. Julie says:

    Wow! Those are so stunning. Thank you for sharing some of your inspiration with us.

  9. Na says:

    Breathtaking pictures. I can easily why there are a source of inspiration.

  10. Wow – ahhhmazing! I love the pictures and the music. So intense and building. It’s like I could feel it to the tips of my toes and right out my head…very inspiring and uplifting! Woot woot! Thank you for sharing…

  11. Very Cool, Deb. I do the same thing. Screenplays especially require a soundtrack to help find the right emotional notes in each scene.

    • Debra Kristi says:

      Oh yes, I can see that about screenplays. My husband was originally a screenplay writer. I am very driven by music. I see the scene in my head and then hunt down the pictures to match. 🙂

  12. Gorgeously evocative, Debra! I’ve never heard of that group Tarja, but I’m definitely going to check them out.

    • Debra Kristi says:

      Tarja is a female singer. She used to sing with Nightwish, but went off on her own a few years ago. I like her single stuff better. There’s a mix in style for her. The majority of her stuff does not sound like this piece. One of my favorites sung by her is “I Feel Immortal.”

  13. Beautiful images, Debra. I love the vibrancy of the colors, the subjects, the composition — it’s the artist in me that finds an inspiration in the beauty of the nature. Thank you for sharing these. I love this tune by Tarja — it evokes something deep in the core of my soul. Love it.

    • Debra Kristi says:

      So glad you love it Angela. It evokes the artist in me as well. It’s an unusual piece for Tarja, but it’s fabulous. I hope she does more like it in the future.

  14. Kelly Gamble says:

    Beautiful pictures, Debra. I could sit by one of those waterfalls and be happy for a very long time.

  15. Shannon Esposito says:

    These make me want to write fantasy 🙂 I get inspired from walks or complete silence…or reading brilliant writing.

  16. Lovely!! We have a beautiful world. Sure wish I could see more of it. Very inspiring. Thank you and many blessings to you and yours!

  17. Lynette says:

    Absolutely breathtaking! Both pictures and music. And, yes, I can see how those would inspire a story.

    I’m an all of the above type also. And, like you, I do better if I can experience at least a piece of the scene (don’t think I’ll be taking the Space Shuttle any time soon 😀 )

    • Debra Kristi says:

      I don’t think anyone will be taking the Space Shuttle any time soon. 😦 But you could always sing up for that zero gravity chamber if you have some money to burn! 😀

  18. Thank you Debra for putting together those beautiful pictures. That was a lot of work!

    My mind feels like it’s just been on vacation!

    I find certain books or authors stimulate my brain into create mode and then my imagination takes it from there.

    Loved this Debra. Thanks. 🙂

  19. Sadie Hart says:

    I love browsing images for inspiration. Sometimes I look for pictures that have something to do with the book, other times I just browse. Something about beautiful images that just lure the Muse into working mode! Great post!

  20. So very beautiful. Where did you find these pictures and the song?

    • Debra Kristi says:

      I like to stumble my way through youtube. I start with something I know and then hit other suggestions that come up. I have discovered a lot of new music that way. I found Tarja a year ago that way. Listened to all her stuff and ended up buying it all. Some I had to order from Europe. Found some great Christian bands that way as well. The pictures I find typing a basic search into Google images and going from there. I follow all the different paths that may pop up along the way.

      • Thanks 🙂 I think I’m going to borrow your techniques when I start on my next novel.

      • Lynn Kelley says:

        I’m so glad Marcy asked that question. That’s so interesting, Debra. Did you have to pay for the photos? I’m so afraid to use images anymore because of copyright infringement!

        • Debra Kristi says:

          It wasn’t an issue when I was first collecting the pictures for my own inspiration. When I started putting together this post some of them didn’t get used for that very reason – copyrights. Since I have become more savvy I have paid for photos because I’d rather be safe than sorry. I spent a huge amount of time tracking down a lot of the photos to give them credit, attach links, etc. In fact, right now I’m trying to figure out what I need to do so that I may use the photo I want for tomorrow’s post. Why does it all have to be so complicated? Ugh.

        • Lynn Kelley says:

          Thanks, Debra, for answering about the copyrights and the photos you used. I can’t afford to pay for photos, which is why I’m trying to build up my own photo library, but we can only do so much, huh? I agree with you about it all being so complicated. Those things turn into such a time suck, don’t they?

        • Debra Kristi says:

          I completely understand that. I am doing the same thing. I haven’t bought too many pictures, and found the ones I did buy not to be that pricey at all. I am taking pictures all the time now and making copies of things I see of interest (cards and postcards I have, etc.). It’s driving my family crazy because I’m always lagging behind with the camera everywhere we go now.

  21. mgmillerbooks says:

    Oh, Debra. Here I sit with it being 19 degrees outside, and here you come along with these gorgeous photos that make me resent the temperature all the more. *Sigh*. Ha. I’ve written a couple books by way of photos of people and places. Stuck ’em all on the wall by my desk, and whenever I’d hit a snag, I’d just shuffle the pics around until I discovered a connection I hadn’t seen before. Worked for me!

    • Debra Kristi says:

      I’m sorry it’s sooo cold there Mike. 😦 You should be here! Our cold day has been in the high 60’s. I love that you do the photo thing too. I have a bunch of photos of people as well. Just didn’t think it was right for this post. I also have dwellings, cars and anything else that catches my fancy when I’m trolling the net. You never know what will spark that flame. 😀

  22. Debra Kristi says:

    Kelly, I also have a special love for waterfalls. I seek them out whenever we are hiking near one.

    Shannon – Come to the side of fantasy. We have pretty pictures and music to whisk you away. *insert maniacal laughter here* ~ Hmm – silence. I’m not too familiar with that one. I think I remember experiencing it ten years ago. LOL Actually, those are really good things to get inspired by! Thanks for sharing Shannon.

    Deborah! How are you? I’m with you, I’d like to see more of our world too. Maybe it will happen in the years ahead. Preferably before I’m using a walker to make my way around.

    Sadie, Welcome! I am drawn in by a great picture as well. I guess that’s why I have collected so many of them, and continue to collect more all the time. I find them so inspiring and I like having that at my fingertips. I enjoyed sharing it with you!

  23. Awesome pictures, Deb. and the video was spine tingling, to say the least. at our last chapter event, we spent some time free writing to different music. It was incredible how the music that was in the background affected each of our words. and it happened to all of us – spooky music resulted in suspenseful writing.

    • Debra Kristi says:

      Yes! Music can be very influential. Just think of how it affects your mood when you are sitting in a movie. I find it will often help me out when I am stuck.

  24. Fabio Bueno says:

    Just beautiful, Debra! I love nature scenes. I used to write outdoors, but it was before I moved to the Pacific Northwest. Now I use music.
    Thank you so much for the pictures.

  25. Lynn Kelley says:

    These photos are gorgeous. I can see how they would inspire you. And I love how you added the video first so we can listen to the music while taking the tour. Very cool. You’re such an inspiring blogger. I love your posts!

  26. Those are gorgeous pictures! They’re the kind that made me write fantasy in my early years, just so I could pretend I was in places like that.

  27. LOVE this post! Those pictures are breathtaking and I’ve never heard of Tarja before, but that’s the kind of music I love to write to. Thanks for the cool post. Sorry I’m so late to the party!

  28. Pingback: Better late than never…linky love – Natalie Hartford

  29. Lena Corazon says:

    All of these photos are absolutely breathtaking, and I adore the music. Thanks for sharing!

  30. Pingback: Let There Be Lights ~ 30+ Pictures with music | Debra Kristi's Blog

  31. Pingback: Guest Post by Natalie Hartford: Writers….write! | Barbara McDowell's Blog

  32. Pingback: Confusion in the Writersphere | Debra Kristi's Blog

  33. Renato says:

    Hi Debra!
    I’m a brazilian biologist. I liked your blog.
    Congratulations !

Comments are closed.